The church was built in 1088. It was called Chiesa San Giacomo de Murorupto because it is located next to the walls of the city in ruins. In 1256 the abbot of Farfa Giacomo gave the building to the abbess of Damianites Benedetta.
Since 1902 the monastery became the seat of the Laboratory St. Francis for poor girls.
It leads to the ancient church through a Romanesque cloister. The charming interior has a single nave covered by bare stone vaults, divided by arcane transverse, and ends in a semicircular apse flanked by a short transept.